top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Tu

6 Stages of Grief

When bad things happened, it is important to go through the process of grief, or you might be stuck in the trauma.

Here is a 6 stage process of grief by pastor Rick Warren.

Stage 1: Shock

You may feel numb or detached in the immediate aftermath of loss.

Stage 2: Sorrow

Profound sadness enters your life, and you may be overcome by weeping. Sometimes, you may experience the flooding of other emotions, including joy.

Stage 3: Struggle

This is where “why” questions enter the picture. You'll likely experience anger and question who's responsible for this loss plus God's role in your pain.

Stage 4: Surrender

This is a tipping point of the healing journey.

You started to accept the reality.

As Rick and Kay Warren note, there comes a moment where you say “I'd rather have all my questions unanswered and walk with God than not walk with God and have all my questions answered.”

Stage 5: Sanctification

You'll experience an inward change. Despite the raw feelings of sadness, you'll start to see the hope at the end of the tunnel.

Stage 6: Service

You used your experience to help others with similar experiences.

Grieving is a very personal process, so it won't be a straightforward process. Yet, if you stay in your lane to go through it, you will always be better than if you don't.

For more info, here is a sermon of the walk of grief by Dann Farrelly, Bethel.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Intro [Excerpt from Goodreads] "Insights -- like Watson and Crick's breakthrough discoveries about the structure of DNA -- can change the world. We also need insights into the everyday things that fru

In the pursuit of being the best version of myself, I came across a book called "The Checklist Manifesto" by Dr. Atul Gawande, which changes my game in every aspect of life. Dr. Gawande pointed out th

bottom of page